Massive Movie Monster Mayhem

I’ve been creating a special topics research class for a minute now. We can pitch class ideas for the May Intersession (a weird pseudo-semester outside our normal 3). Usually, it is an experimental time to try out a new class idea or concept. There have been Bridge playing classes, trips to far-off countries, Star Wars philosophy, and volunteer events with the Special Olympics. I decided to pitch ‘rubber suit monster movie appreciation’ and got it!

Now I just had to choose my film list…

Gorgo (1961)

I started out thinking about just showing Godzilla films because there are plenty (38ish and counting?) but I did not want Toho to come down on my university with any legal problems. Also, broadening the scope of the class helped me really focus on what I found important beyond the big lizard. Namely, what giant monsters tend to represent on screen. What do the people making those films think are problems so big that only a gargantuan monster can represent them? I’ve narrowed it down to mostly 1) historically important films, 2) politically important films, and 3) weird standouts in the genre.

Godzilla 1954 was an obvious must-have. I want to show how perceptions change over time so showing the 1985 (US recut) felt like the most effective way. Since both the 1954 & 1984 Japanese films have US counterparts, I thought presenting 1 film of both would give students more possibilities for their individual research. Each student must present original research to me for their grade (as a paper, video, podcast, art project, etc). So showing them a diverse range of films with different viewpoints felt necessary.

Next, I had the original King Kong 1933 paired with the 1976 remake. Again, 2 different films that are very similar. Each one shows a different set of morals, interests, fears, and cultural ideas. I know this makes 3 US films in the list so far BUT the non-required film nights have a lot more international films in them. Hopefully, this can help balance out what I show. The King Kongs are also very important films in the genre and really illustrate how cultures change over time.

Last, I think the inclusion of Shin Ultraman 2022 will make a perfect cap for the series as it shows the absolutely wild change in the genre. The film treats the kaiju genre as important and nuanced. The themes are very similar to the originals and yet they feel mature. The remake of season 2 of the Ultra series takes the best of the show and condenses it into a heartfelt tribute and call to action for the whole human race in a single film. Not only that but it really showcases the updated effects splendidly.

Now, I want each student to watch and write a synopsis of 10 films altogether. That way they have a good basis in the genre but also get exposed to things they may not watch on their own. Godzilla, King Kong, and Ultraman are all national treasures that are so intrinsic to the makeup of giant monster cinema that you really can’t exclude them. However, I also wanted to have some viewing nights available for those who don’t have access to these films or don’t know how to find them. These films could be wilder and weirder.

First up for the non-required films I have Ilya Muromets (1956). A Soviet-era film with a cast of over 100,000 people aimed to show Russia’s ancient heroic roots. It’s an epic tale with dragons, giants, and lots of big battles. You may know it as The Sword and the Dragon which had a Mystery Science Theater 3,000 episode about it. I find that many of these films have a nationalist undercurrent in them no matter what country makes them. While watching a Japanese or American film, my students may let these themes slide but presenting a film from an “enemy nation” may help show where the entertainment ends and the propaganda begins.

I want to follow that up with Pulgasari (1985). It would play after the other 1985 film in the list so that students could see just how different film techniques were between North Korea and Japan at the time. Allowing more opportunities for comparing and contrasting themes across time and cultures. Additionally, this film is one of the most outlandish propaganda films considering its background. The directors were a kidnapped divorced couple from South Korea who had been through the re-education camps. A story worthy of an entire film itself.

After that, the classic Irish monster film Gorgo (1976) feels right at home in the lineup. It’s pulpy and shows off a lot of the same nationalistic ideas of the other films but from a British perspective. We can see the early environmental stories that would become more popular over the next few years (Hedorah, Toxic Avenger, and so on). Additionally, Gorgo is on the cover of the book by Jason Barr that I’m using as a textbook.

Then I have a night just to watch a bunch of shorts or TV episodes that really don’t fit anywhere else cleanly. So watch something like Conquest of the Pole and some Ultraman episodes before they watch the Ultraman movie. Additionally, I want to screen Godzilla vs. Wolfman just because this seems like the only academic time I will get to. This will also give me time to show just how much fun series like Spectreman and Johnny Sokko and His Flying Robot can be.

The last film on my list as of now is Robot Jox (1989). I was going to put Pacific Rim (2013) here but I’m moderately sure no one has seen Robot Jox and likely anyone taking this class has seen Pacific Rim. The other factor is that this film is a perfect dissolution of the Cold War in one neat package. It shows how people are not the countries they represent. We are all individuals with drives and passions. That commonality feels like the right foot to end the class on. Also, it is absolutely absurd and deserves more people to see how ridiculous it is.

There were too many great choices to make this list. Maybe this is a class I can revisit in future years and show even more ridiculous movies for. Like, Big Man Japan or Terror of Mechagodzilla or any of the Honey I blew Up the… would be great to add to this list. Even a 50-Foot Woman screening would really add to this series. So, hopefully, this isn’t the end of my film appreciation classes. I even considered doing monthly screenings just to keep the idea going.

Did I miss any that you think should make the cut out of 10 spots? What would your list of essential viewing look like? Let me know in the comments below. I may end up tweaking this list more before May. There really are just too many good choices and no time to get around to them all.

One thought on “Massive Movie Monster Mayhem

Leave a comment