April 2024 Update

Time has been flying by a mile a minute here so I thought I’d make a quick update before the month is completely gone. It’s been a wild time. Between my academic work, fiction writing, DMing, and life I have been running a little ragged this month.

Dragon Force live in concert – be jelly

In exciting news, one of my pieces was accepted for publication in a literature journal! I’ll link and update when it comes out. It is to one of the markets I was excited to submit to. I’ve had several other rejections lately so it was nice to have one story find a home. If and when I hear back on the others I will update.

I finished the third year of my makerspace course. It seems to be pretty popular with students. I still want to tinker. It needs to be more hands-on and cover more software. Since my work is changing what we are allowed to run on campus computers though I have been hesitant to spend much time researching new software. No reason to learn a whole new skill set just to have it thrown away the next week because of bureaucracy.

My new kaiju film course starts at the end of the month. I am pretty much ready. I just need to finish my notes and slides. I finally hit my stride on those however. Now I just need to make sure my students know when, where, and how to meet. Apparently all that got left off of the catalog entry. I’m sure it’ll be fine 🫠

The Curse of Strahd campaign I’ve been running for about a year is wrapping up. I think this will be the final week of the game. We went 32 sessions. To date, it has been one of my best games I’ve ran. There are lots of ways I can improve but I learned a lot from this game. Hoping I can sit out a turn and let someone else run the next one. I’m looking at writing up the adventures as a book of its own. I may see if my players want to add to it.

Life has been a rush. My partner and I moved into our home about a year ago. We are finally settling in. The previous owners had completed some… questionable DIY repairs to the place. I’ve almost fixed these issues. Just yesterday I had a new faucet get delivered. I am replacing an old one that just looks and performs poorly. When I opened the cabinet to pull the old one I noticed there was standing water and mold growing from a leaky drain pipe. For whatever reason the last owner cut every possible corner on their “investment” property and it really shows in their plumbing. The drain pipe angles DOWN to the P-trap. So now I need to fix the drain before I can install the faucet. Cool cool cool…

I’ll be taking over editing responsibilities for the Tavern Tall Tales magazine starting next month. I get to handle it over the summer. Should be an exciting time. I am also filming another feature around that time so I may be more busy than I have been. I want to enter a few film festivals so I have my work cut out for me.

Otherwise, I’ve just been trying to work on myself as a person. I put off my health mentally and physically for years. Slowly things have gotten better but it was a long road to recover. It seems fake but problems get worse the longer you wait to fix them. My body being a pretty clear indicator of that. Every day is a little better though.

I going to be meeting with my writing partner starting in May again. We had put off our weekly calls a few years ago. We both wanted to start working together again though.

Progress Report:

  • Novel 66%
  • Chapter Book 85%
  • Novella 83%
  • Old Short Story 100%
  • New Short Story 30%
  • Flash Fiction 100%
  • 2 Rejections
  • 1 Acceptance
  • 4 Pending Response

I haven’t made much headway on the important projects but I finished a short story and a flash fiction piece. I started another piece for a fast approaching deadline. I have several deadlines from May 15th to May 31st. After that I should be back on the chapter book and novel projects.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment